Scholarship, Grants and Funding Opportunities For Africans

TWAS-NRF Doctoral Fellowship Programme 2020/2021 for study in South Africa (Fully Funded)

South Africa’s National Research Foundation (NRF) and Department of Science and Technology (DST) are working in partnership with TWAS to advance science in developing countries through the NRF-TWAS Doctoral Fellowships.

Universities will set their own internal cut-off dates for applications and applicants must abide by those dates.

Programme Details


Applicants for these fellowships must meet the following criteria:

TWAS-NRF Doctoral programme:

*The list of 151 eligible developing countries is available in the Framework document you may download at the bottom of the page.


Stage 1:

Application for acceptance at South African Institutions

Applicants must contact institutions in South Africa or potential supervisors to obtain a placement into the doctoral research training programme. For details of recognised HEIs and other Public Research Institutions click here.

Application for evaluation of foreign qualifications from the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA)

Applicants must have all foreign qualifications (obtained from non-South Africa universities) evaluated by the South African Qualification Authority (SAQA). Proof that at least the applicant has submitted his/her qualification for evaluation at SAQA must be submitted with the application, failing which the application will be rejected.

Applicants are advised to start this process early to allow time for processing. Information on the process can be accessed by logging on to On the SAQA website, navigate to Service – Evaluation of Foreign Qualifications – General Information. Applicants must strictly adhere to all the instructions and provide all applicable documents to avoid delays and rejection of applications. Applicants are advised to courier all application documents to SAQA directly.

Stage 2:

Submitting your application

Applicants must apply for the NRF – TWAS Doctoral Fellowship for 2021 by accessing the link: on the NRF Online application system

On accessing the link, please follow the detailed guidelines in the step -by-step “Application and Funding Guide for 2021 academic year”. You can see or download the guide at the bottom of this page.

Remember to submit your application upon completion.

The deadline for applications is 14 August 2020.

No applications will be accepted after the deadline. Therefore, it is recommended to submit your electronic application as early as possible.


TWAS Fellowships Office

ICTP campus, Strada Costiera 11, 34151 Trieste, Italy

Tel: +39 040 2240 314, Fax: +39 040 2240 689


National Research Foundation, South Africa

Ms Thandeka Mthethwa

Professional Officer: Grants Management and Systems Administration (GMSA)

Telephone:   012 481 4163

Email address:

For More Information: Visit the Webpage of the TWAS-NRF Doctoral Programme 2020/2021

Deadline: 14 August 2020

Exit mobile version